New Build

Forum for Technical discussions

Re: New Build

Unread postby DeusIgnis » 11 Apr 12, 12:43 am

X66WeeD666X wrote:
DeusIgnis wrote:Random side note:

How does using actual TV setup LCDs go vs Computer Specced.

Is the only difference the ability to pickup TV and the inputs?


Not quite sure i get what you mean?

If your asking what the difference between a monitor and a TV is then aslong as you do your shopping and research correctly you'll find next to no difference whatsoever.

If you dont do your shopping and just buy any old larger TV panel then youll notice huge differences in clarity, response time and general niceness of the picture.

I did my shopping with these ones and find no difference between them and my normal monitors.


That is exactly what I was looking for, cheers :D
Deus, DeusIgnis, Ignis, D to the I-g-n-i-s, but not **** DUES dammit
Image
DeusIgnis

User avatar
Padawan
 
Offline
Posts: 410
Joined: 26 Sep 03, 4:16 pm
Location: Perth, WA

Re: New Build

Unread postby Sharafciger » 11 Apr 12, 1:49 am

X66WeeD666X wrote:H
So current specs are.

CPU: Intel Core i7 x 980 @ 3.33GHz
MOBO: Asus Rampage III Extreme
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 15gb DDR3 1600mhz
GFX: Asus ATI HD7970
HD: 2 x 500gb "Brand forgotten" 10k RPM in raid mode
Power Supply: Thermaltake HX1000W
Cooling: Multiple fans and liquid cooling
Case: Antec 1200
Blu Ray


So any ideas?

Currently in 1920 x 1080 in BF3 on all low, no shadows or aliasing, i average 50-60 FPS.


That's just... impossible, for lack of a better world.

My specs:

i7 960
ASUS X58 Sabertooth
Corsair 6GB Kit @ 1600
SLI Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12

I get 50-60FPS @ 1920x1080 on Ultra with 2x MSAA.
Two GTX 460's are roughly equivalent to a 5-10% increase over a GTX 580, and the 7970 decidedly trounces the GTX 580; so effectively I am getting better performance than you with considerably less grunt.

Your performance is so off base compared to any available benchmark it sounds like something is incredibly wrong with your rig.

Give driver reinstalling a shot; across the board: Graphics, Chipset, Mobo, Sound, BIOS, etc...

If you were getting 50FPS on Ultra with 4x MSAA, then I would say fair enough but on LOW?

That doesn't compute.

EDIT: I know that you've rather hastily upgraded; but you seriously should have put some time into determining what the hell was holding your old rig back.

The fix was probably as simple as a reformat and fresh drivers. Or RMA'ing a bad card. Whatever, your cash.
Sharafciger

n00bie
 
Offline
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Apr 12, 12:09 am

Re: New Build

Unread postby X66WeeD666X » 11 Apr 12, 4:24 pm

Sharafciger wrote:
X66WeeD666X wrote:H
So current specs are.

CPU: Intel Core i7 x 980 @ 3.33GHz
MOBO: Asus Rampage III Extreme
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 15gb DDR3 1600mhz
GFX: Asus ATI HD7970
HD: 2 x 500gb "Brand forgotten" 10k RPM in raid mode
Power Supply: Thermaltake HX1000W
Cooling: Multiple fans and liquid cooling
Case: Antec 1200
Blu Ray


So any ideas?

Currently in 1920 x 1080 in BF3 on all low, no shadows or aliasing, i average 50-60 FPS.


That's just... impossible, for lack of a better world.

My specs:

i7 960
ASUS X58 Sabertooth
Corsair 6GB Kit @ 1600
SLI Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12

I get 50-60FPS @ 1920x1080 on Ultra with 2x MSAA.
Two GTX 460's are roughly equivalent to a 5-10% increase over a GTX 580, and the 7970 decidedly trounces the GTX 580; so effectively I am getting better performance than you with considerably less grunt.

Your performance is so off base compared to any available benchmark it sounds like something is incredibly wrong with your rig.

Give driver reinstalling a shot; across the board: Graphics, Chipset, Mobo, Sound, BIOS, etc...

If you were getting 50FPS on Ultra with 4x MSAA, then I would say fair enough but on LOW?

That doesn't compute.

EDIT: I know that you've rather hastily upgraded; but you seriously should have put some time into determining what the hell was holding your old rig back.

The fix was probably as simple as a reformat and fresh drivers. Or RMA'ing a bad card. Whatever, your cash.


Whilst i would agree that rushing out and buying RAM and a new GPU the first time around was definitely hasty, i would say that i definitely researched the next part of the upgrade, this thread is evidence of that no?

I did kinda figure out what the issue was as we tried a boot with the old setup once the dust was cleared, and i was getting better performance, much better, i literally had close to an inch of dust on all of my filters which was hard cooked onto them! Plus when i removed 2 of the 3 monitors i was using it really did bring it back upto spec.

But the old rig just wasnt gonna cut it at 5760x1080.

Got my mate around to look at my new rig, hes a techy on a level i can't even begin to understand and he gave me a few pointers as well.

Edit: To add to that, i've NEVER been pleased with the performance of builds from computer stores even when i've put some of the parts in or completely custom designed what i want for them and how i want it setup. NEVER, not once have i ever been happy.

In recent years, this is the first setup i've ever been truly pleased with the performance of, extra effort/research/sacking up and building it yourself really does give you exemplery results in the performance department.
Last edited by X66WeeD666X on 11 Apr 12, 4:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
|i7/980x@4.2ghz|12G DDR3@2000MHZ|2xHD7970 CUII|2x500GB|G19 & Naga|3x40" LED|


|Tera - Spawneh- MT|
|BF4 - X666WeeD666X|
X66WeeD666X

User avatar
Padawan
 
Offline
Posts: 293
Joined: 5 Oct 07, 8:07 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: New Build

Unread postby Cas Bitton » 11 Apr 12, 4:28 pm

Looks like a killer setup X66WeeD666X :D

I'd love to use something like that with a few simulators and head tracking, would be incredible :shock:
Follow us: Image Image Image
Cas Bitton

Dos Capas
 
Offline
Posts: 4989
Joined: 14 Sep 03, 1:59 pm
Location: Sandwich

Re: New Build

Unread postby X66WeeD666X » 11 Apr 12, 4:33 pm

Redownloading ARMA II as we speak, dont have head tracking but ill post some pics up in the shooter section :) Hopefully i can run it on some decent settings this time, but, knowing ARMA, probably not lol

Tellin ya now though, even just BF3 cruising round in the planes/choppers is frelling awesome!
|i7/980x@4.2ghz|12G DDR3@2000MHZ|2xHD7970 CUII|2x500GB|G19 & Naga|3x40" LED|


|Tera - Spawneh- MT|
|BF4 - X666WeeD666X|
X66WeeD666X

User avatar
Padawan
 
Offline
Posts: 293
Joined: 5 Oct 07, 8:07 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: New Build

Unread postby steve_rogers42 » 11 Apr 12, 5:37 pm

just make sure your AMD drivers are up to date... seems the old ones didnt play nice at all with BF3.
Image
Nolite te bastardes carborundorum
steve_rogers42

User avatar
Tech Moderator
 
Online
Posts: 3647
Joined: 20 Jun 07, 1:11 pm
Location: Straight outta a video game

Re: New Build

Unread postby X66WeeD666X » 11 Apr 12, 5:57 pm

steve_rogers42 wrote:just make sure your AMD drivers are up to date... seems the old ones didnt play nice at all with BF3.


No they most certainly did not play nice with BF3!

Have updated to the latest profiles and drivers and getting alot better performance now.

Though with SW:TOR with Crossfire turned on performance goes to absolute poop! Turn CF off and it runs smooth as again. Posted on the TOR forums to see if its a common issue. It would seem as though it is.

EDIT:

Ok loaded up Source and HL2, both ran flawlessly at the highest possible settings as expected, though their own stress test down in the well, wouldnt look up to eye level after decending which was odd.

Loaded up ARMA II...even on the lowest/disabled settings, couldnt get above 26FPS on their 2 ingame benchmarks...im kinda confused here.

Still downloading other games, got Darksiders and UT3 up next. I love fibre :D

EDIT:

Darksiders works smooth as silk with a gamepad and 5760x1080 after some tweaking! Definitely a console port though.

UT3 took some buggering around, can get the FOV and look of the game to be correct, but the weapons and HUD are just not right and whenever i switch weapons the widescreen fixer turns off, only takes a hotkey to turn on again but how often does one switch weapons in UT3 lol not exactly viable.

Off to download X3:TC to see if i can finally give that game a real burl! Along with Hawx
|i7/980x@4.2ghz|12G DDR3@2000MHZ|2xHD7970 CUII|2x500GB|G19 & Naga|3x40" LED|


|Tera - Spawneh- MT|
|BF4 - X666WeeD666X|
X66WeeD666X

User avatar
Padawan
 
Offline
Posts: 293
Joined: 5 Oct 07, 8:07 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: New Build

Unread postby PantyRaider » 14 Apr 12, 3:07 am

Those tv's you have are they the series 5 40inch (UA40D5000)?
i53550,Corsair600TWhite,GskillAres8GB,Asrockz77E4,Sapphire 7850,Seagate500gig,samsung128gig ssd, CorsairRM750,ASUS27"VE278Q,W7Ult64bit.
PantyRaider

Padawan
 
Offline
Posts: 416
Joined: 31 Jan 03, 11:00 pm
Location: Owner of a 95 Suzuki Swift Cino

Re: New Build

Unread postby kablekill » 14 Apr 12, 2:17 pm

OMG this is amazing nice setup I have to say. :shock:
kablekill

User avatar
Jedi Upstart
 
Offline
Posts: 519
Joined: 16 Mar 11, 11:25 am
Location: Completely lost.

Re: New Build

Unread postby X66WeeD666X » 14 Apr 12, 3:30 pm

PantyRaider wrote:Those tv's you have are they the series 5 40inch (UA40D5000)?


They are UA40D6000SM

kablekill wrote:OMG this is amazing nice setup I have to say. :shock:


Cheers!
|i7/980x@4.2ghz|12G DDR3@2000MHZ|2xHD7970 CUII|2x500GB|G19 & Naga|3x40" LED|


|Tera - Spawneh- MT|
|BF4 - X666WeeD666X|
X66WeeD666X

User avatar
Padawan
 
Offline
Posts: 293
Joined: 5 Oct 07, 8:07 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: New Build

Unread postby steve_rogers42 » 16 Apr 12, 6:07 pm

Gaming in surround 3d yet :3 ?
Image
Nolite te bastardes carborundorum
steve_rogers42

User avatar
Tech Moderator
 
Online
Posts: 3647
Joined: 20 Jun 07, 1:11 pm
Location: Straight outta a video game

Re: New Build

Unread postby X66WeeD666X » 16 Apr 12, 6:24 pm

Gonna give it a burl this weekend! Should be interesting playing BF3 or Skyrim in 3D :D
|i7/980x@4.2ghz|12G DDR3@2000MHZ|2xHD7970 CUII|2x500GB|G19 & Naga|3x40" LED|


|Tera - Spawneh- MT|
|BF4 - X666WeeD666X|
X66WeeD666X

User avatar
Padawan
 
Offline
Posts: 293
Joined: 5 Oct 07, 8:07 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: New Build

Unread postby steve_rogers42 » 16 Apr 12, 6:42 pm

some tips, i found it best to give my eyes time to adjust to the depth, you should be able to set it via the video card settings, nvidia has hot keys for it, MEMORIZE THEM.

Also darkness is your friend, dont be afraid to turn the lights on ala amnesia style...

BF3 was interesting, Skyrim is FANTASTIC in 3d, i mean TOTALLY AWESOMELY FANTASTIC. easily the best 3d experience so far.

have fun with it man, let it grow on you, just dont dismiss it too fast :wink:
Image
Nolite te bastardes carborundorum
steve_rogers42

User avatar
Tech Moderator
 
Online
Posts: 3647
Joined: 20 Jun 07, 1:11 pm
Location: Straight outta a video game

Re: New Build

Unread postby X66WeeD666X » 17 Apr 12, 10:37 pm

Embrace it you say? I'll definitely give it a burl! Alot of things i'm quick to dismiss so i'll take your advice.

Now to just figure out a game recording program for this resolution. Might just end up setting up a good old video camera behind me lol
|i7/980x@4.2ghz|12G DDR3@2000MHZ|2xHD7970 CUII|2x500GB|G19 & Naga|3x40" LED|


|Tera - Spawneh- MT|
|BF4 - X666WeeD666X|
X66WeeD666X

User avatar
Padawan
 
Offline
Posts: 293
Joined: 5 Oct 07, 8:07 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Previous

Return to Tech Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: exe3 and 4 guests