Steam on 2 hard drives.

Forum for Technical discussions

Steam on 2 hard drives.

Unread postby spynoob » 20 Feb 13, 10:13 pm

Hi all.

Don't know if this is the right thread. But I have steam installed on a SSD that is now almost full. I went out and bought another internal hard drive and installed a game on it. Is their anyway that I can choose where to install the steam games (which drive) or would it make things easier to move steam off the SSD and onto the internal?

Thanks in advance!
spynoob

User avatar
Minecraft Admin
 
Offline
Posts: 314
Joined: 3 Jun 12, 4:17 pm
Location: The snowy land

Re: Steam on 2 hard drives.

Unread postby Mearehear » 20 Feb 13, 10:16 pm

Sure can, is a recently added option in Steam.. should be a setting in there somewhere givng you exactly what you want. I dont have it fired up at the moment, so can't point you to exactly where, but it is there
Mearehear

Game Admin
 
Offline
Posts: 2955
Joined: 15 Jan 10, 8:04 am

Re: Steam on 2 hard drives.

Unread postby MUG » 20 Feb 13, 10:41 pm

Mearehear wrote:Sure can, is a recently added option in Steam.. should be a setting in there somewhere givng you exactly what you want. I dont have it fired up at the moment, so can't point you to exactly where, but it is there


And here is a picture.

Image
Image
MUG

User avatar
Game Admin
 
Offline
Posts: 890
Joined: 18 Nov 05, 12:45 pm

Re: Steam on 2 hard drives.

Unread postby Fireslide » 20 Feb 13, 11:10 pm

Failing that, you can always use steammover

http://www.traynier.com/software/steammover
Image
Fireslide

User avatar
Moderator
 
Offline
Posts: 4031
Joined: 3 Feb 03, 9:52 pm
Location: Adelaide, SA

Re: Steam on 2 hard drives.

Unread postby stoolsample » 20 Feb 13, 11:54 pm

Apon installing your game you will be provided with Image
Note the Select location.. This is a new addition to steam.
Dead 2600k @0.0ghz zer0watt functionality
New i5 4690 @3.9Ghz/8GB@1866mhz Gigabyte R9-290-OC
CM N600/27" 1080/60 OC'd to 1440p@60
stoolsample

User avatar
Padawan
 
Offline
Posts: 380
Joined: 7 Oct 09, 7:54 pm
Location: Adelaide

Re: Steam on 2 hard drives.

Unread postby spynoob » 21 Feb 13, 12:16 am

You guys are amazing. I'll have to take a look at it when I get home from work.
spynoob

User avatar
Minecraft Admin
 
Offline
Posts: 314
Joined: 3 Jun 12, 4:17 pm
Location: The snowy land

Re: Steam on 2 hard drives.

Unread postby stoolsample » 21 Feb 13, 1:18 am

I used to use Steammover,worked a treat but then Steam basically added the feature themselves right after I started using it.
Dead 2600k @0.0ghz zer0watt functionality
New i5 4690 @3.9Ghz/8GB@1866mhz Gigabyte R9-290-OC
CM N600/27" 1080/60 OC'd to 1440p@60
stoolsample

User avatar
Padawan
 
Offline
Posts: 380
Joined: 7 Oct 09, 7:54 pm
Location: Adelaide

Re: Steam on 2 hard drives.

Unread postby spynoob » 21 Feb 13, 1:30 pm

so iv'e done what you ask, went into the settings under the downloads tab clicked on steam library folders and made one for the E drive, so now i have my C (my SSD) and my E (my internal HD) went to download something and it's not letting me choose

Image

the only reason why i was able to put a game onto the other drive was because it was tooo big for the SSD so it gave me the option to put onto the internal
spynoob

User avatar
Minecraft Admin
 
Offline
Posts: 314
Joined: 3 Jun 12, 4:17 pm
Location: The snowy land

Re: Steam on 2 hard drives.

Unread postby lucassot » 21 Feb 13, 3:11 pm

Fireslide wrote:Failing that, you can always use steammover

http://www.traynier.com/software/steammover

Loving Steammover, got it when I purchased my SSD! I haven't used the Steam feature yet but its nice they added it in :)
lucassot

User avatar
Forgotten What The Sky Looks Like
 
Offline
Posts: 2142
Joined: 2 Dec 04, 12:55 am
Location: Adelaide, SA

Re: Steam on 2 hard drives.

Unread postby Fu||a » 22 Feb 13, 8:26 pm



Iv used this when steam didnt have the current option, works and its not that hard following that video.

Note steam is installed on my other drive, and i mklink to my ssd
Mu||ets arent Retards
Mu||ets are Cool and
Mu||ets get Chicks

Fu||a for Life
Fu||a

User avatar
Player
 
Offline
Posts: 17
Joined: 22 Mar 05, 3:58 pm

Re: Steam on 2 hard drives.

Unread postby Phylum » 23 Feb 13, 10:09 pm

That feature was still in beta when I get my new computer, so I have an awkward junction set up in my c: drive.
Phylum

User avatar
Padawan
 
Offline
Posts: 143
Joined: 26 Jul 12, 7:19 pm
Location: Adelaide


Return to Tech Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests