Company of Heroes: Opposing Fronts - Beta Key Giveaway

Competition discussion forum

Unread postby shepard » 2 Sep 07, 5:41 am

Thank for your reply,

I updated the Nvidia driver too.

I downloaded two times the beta client and nothing changed.

I think , i've enough space on my windows partition (8Gb free) and my games/programs partition (130Gb free)

It will be strange if it's the overcloking of the CPU/RAM/GPU cause this problem.

I've the default regional and language setting ...

I'm not very lucky and I hope that the COHOF gold works perfectly.

I saw in COHOF beta forum some firewalls/routers have problem to establish a connection with other players.

Thank you again and have fun :)
shepard

n00bie
 
Offline
Posts: 5
Joined: 2 Sep 07, 2:33 am

Unread postby Ibbz » 2 Sep 07, 4:51 pm

shepard, I had the exact same problem, however, I just cleaned out the temporary files folder on my C: drive and now the patch appears to be working properly. Might want to try that?
Ibbz

n00bie
 
Offline
Posts: 1
Joined: 11 May 07, 7:28 pm

Unread postby shepard » 2 Sep 07, 8:25 pm

Hi Ibbz,

I just cleaned out the temporary files on C: and on C:\Users\xxxxxx\Appdata\Local\Temp (i'm using windows vista) and nothing change...

Well, i tried the compatibility to simulate a XP SP2 and nothing change too ...

But now... if i download the patch and get the error, when i restart the game i had the main menu and i can go to the options menu but still have the 1.66 not 1.67.

It's really weird.

In the patch folder for COHOF, 2 files appear:
The patch : COH_OF_Beta_1.66.0.92_1.67.0.99_Patch.exe
and ... : COH_OF_Beta_1.66.0.92_1.67.0.99_Patch.exe.resume

So ... the last thing i can do it's a reinstall of my OS but i don't want to use this option for a beta game :/.
shepard

n00bie
 
Offline
Posts: 5
Joined: 2 Sep 07, 2:33 am

Unread postby Bronze_D » 3 Sep 07, 12:55 am

trust me.. at this point in time it's not worth it.

the game is a blast when it actually work but u will spend more time trying to find a server that works than actually playing it.

on average now i think it's at about 1 success every 10 attempt or so...

and for some reason connections between fellow aus players even with low ping fails constantly on some of us... no idea what is causing it, we've opened all the ports mentioned and whatnot still nothing.
Image
Bronze_D

User avatar
Never goes to sleep
 
Offline
Posts: 4371
Joined: 5 Sep 03, 4:32 pm
Location: Yuri paradise

Unread postby shepard » 3 Sep 07, 2:25 am

I find how,

I have a xp pc so I install the beta and patch on it and I copy the folder on my vista pc and it works....

Well ... now I have the same connection problem but if I host a game other people can join with maximum of 100 ping.

I opened all the ports needed too.
shepard

n00bie
 
Offline
Posts: 5
Joined: 2 Sep 07, 2:33 am

Unread postby BulletForce » 3 Sep 07, 8:37 am

Any more keys coming?
--- BTK ---
#Australia's Leading Clan
Image
** Currently Recruiting **
>>http://www.btkgaming.com<<
BulletForce

User avatar
Player
 
Offline
Posts: 39
Joined: 18 Jun 06, 2:05 am
Location: Getting some kills

Unread postby shepard » 3 Sep 07, 9:10 am

It's an open free beta, go on fileplanet, create an account and play!
shepard

n00bie
 
Offline
Posts: 5
Joined: 2 Sep 07, 2:33 am

Unread postby Aulias » 3 Sep 07, 11:58 am

Also getting the "can't connect to all players" error...

I have that prot 6112 open as it says on the news page...

Perhaps my problem is I can't see any Australian servers though, all in US or England, pings of 350 plus.

Arrrrgghgghhhh I want to play this so badly it hurts!! :!:

They could have at least given us a skirmish option, so we can test that out and see all the new units! I'm sure those pommies are full of amusing comments about making cups of tea and scones!!

Aside - with the first game, you can play multiplayer games against friends using Hamachi and the multiplayer - lan option. Works quite well.
Aulias

Player
 
Offline
Posts: 21
Joined: 16 Nov 04, 9:28 am

Unread postby Fitzad » 6 Sep 07, 10:33 am

Well looks like i wont be getting into this beta because all my Lectures decided it would fun to give me all my major assesments at once and make them all due within 2 - 3 days of each other :evil: anywayz first one to PM me can have my key :)
Fitzad

User avatar
Padawan
 
Offline
Posts: 188
Joined: 24 Nov 06, 9:18 pm
Location: Back in Aus

Unread postby Fitzad » 12 Sep 07, 10:49 pm

keys gone thanks
Fitzad

User avatar
Padawan
 
Offline
Posts: 188
Joined: 24 Nov 06, 9:18 pm
Location: Back in Aus

Previous

Return to News:: Competitions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest